Route of St. Teresa of Jesus

The year 2015 marks the 500th anniversary of the birth of St. Teresa in the city of Ávila. Paradores is joining in the celebrations with an offer that celebrates our cultural and historical heritage: The Route of St. Teresa of Jesus. Discover the most iconic aspects of her legacy while staying at the Paradores most marked by her influence.

Day 1
Departure. Sunday.
Toledo represents an essential period in the life of St. Teresa. It was here that she began to put down her thoughts, concerns and intentions in writing, producing an extensive and rich body of literary work.

Toledo is also where her good works earned her an excellent reputation, which would serve her very well in her task of founding convents and spreading her message.

The Carmelite convent was first located in a house on San Juan de Dios Street, in the heart of the city's Jewish quarter. One year later, it moved to its current location on Plaza de Santa Teresa de Jesús, very close to Cambrón Gate. This convent became a place where St. Teresa would go to rest, with the saint spending long periods in Toledo.

In 1577, St. Teresa returned to Toledo and shut herself away in her convent. Here she would take up her writing again, closing the literary circle of St. Teresa and the city of Toledo.
Day 2
Segovia is home to the ninth convent founded by the saint, which had an eventful beginning.

She came to Segovia with five nuns, two of them from Segovia, the knight Antonio Gaitán, cleric Julián of Ávila and St. John of the Cross, confessor at La Encarnación Convent in Ávila. She began writing The Mansions here, at the Discalced Carmelite Convent of San José.

Every corner and street of Segovia will amaze you. Buildings and structures such as the aqueduct, cathedral and alcázar (fortress) evoke times long gone. Together with San Esteban, San Justo, San Martín and San Millán churches, they will remind you of a splendid past.

Don't forget to explore the nearly Royal Palace of La Granja de San Ildefonso (18th-century palace and gardens) and the Royal Palace of Riofrío.
Day 3
Teresa came to Valladolid on August 10, 1568.

Valladolid has shown great appreciation for how significant St. Teresa's convent has been for the city, making her an honorary citizen in 1968. The street and neighborhood where the convent is located are known as the Rondilla de Santa Teresa.
The Carmelite convent is the most important local site associated with St. Teresa. The convent church and her cell, among the many rooms in the convent, are both well worth a visit.

One of the most important events to take place in Tordesillas, a location forever linked to the kings and history of Spain, was the signing of the Treaty of Tordesillas on June 7, 1494, with which the crowns of Castile and Portugal divided up the rights to Atlantic sea travel and conquest.
Days 4 and 5
Wednesday and Thursday.
St. Teresa arrived in Salamanca in the year 1570, founding her seventh convent here. The city boasts a number of locations the exude the spirit and influence of Teresa.

Highlights include: House of St. Teresa on Crespo Rascón Street; San Esteban Monastery (where the Dominican friars provided St. Teresa with assistance during her stay in Salamanca); the Pontifical University; the University of Salamanca; Salamanca Cathedral, especially the chapel dedicated to St. Teresa of Jesus; and lastly, the Plaza Mayor (Main Square), where there is a medallion with her figure on the building known as the Pabellón de Petrineros.
Days 6 and 7
Friday and Saturday.
More than anywhere else, Ávila is the city of St. Teresa of Jesus.

It is the city of her childhood, youth and maturity, years of hopes and plans, departure point and point of return while she worked to found her convents. Her lifetime coincided with Ávila's golden age.

Visitors will not want to miss this chance to explore its streets, recalling her life and activities.

The most noteworthy locations include Santa Teresa Church and Convent, the birthplace of Teresa of Ávila; San Juan Bautista Church, site of her baptism; Nuestra Señora de Gracia Convent; La Encarnación Convent; San José Convent (Las Madres) and the Royal Monastery of Santo Tomás.